Ensemble RΕΙ (En)

Rei is an ancient Greek word from a quote of an ancient Greek scientist, Heracleitus. He was the first one who realized that in the core of all things, the material is not vast but flowing. His quote is one of the most famous of all times: “Ta panta rei”. Which means: Everything flows.

 Nowadays, we live in a world that enhances this fact more than ever before. Everything changes constantly and rapidly. Our ensemble has the ambition to resemble our society and way of life in the modern era: we play in flexible combinations of chamber music formations with a core of string instruments, from duo to large ensemble and from Baroque to Rock!

Another important element of Ensemble Rei is to combine as many different nationalities as possible. Our idea is that music unites people as an universal language. It stands above borders and boundaries of countries, regions, languages and cultures and builds bridges between the intellect and the emotions of all human beings. In a time of strong polarization on all fronts, we find that music and the arts should form an example of how all of us, so extremely diverse, can start celebrating what we have in common rather than challenge our differences.

There is always a beautiful story that goes with a great piece of music. One of the musicians narrates it before a piece is performed. It might have to do with the composer or the particular piece, or a legendary performance, or it could be an experience of one of the musicians that relates to the music. We also love to experiment with interdisciplinary shows, where music combines with other forms of art (performing or visual), thus contributing to a completely different experience.

Through the intimate atmosphere and setting we try to diminish the distance between the musicians and the public, so the concert is a uniquely shared experience for all present individuals.



Edward Elgar: Salut d’ Amour, Serenade op. 20

Antonin Dvorak: Nocturne op. 40, Kwintet op. 77

Eric Satie: Gymnopédie nr. 1 (arr. A. Potamianos)

George Gershwin: Summertime, Lullaby

Astor Piazzolla: Otoño Porteño

Kraftwerk: Autobahn (arrangement: A. Potamianos)

Tjerk van der Ham: Vijf grof volkoren

John Williams: Schindler’s List (arr. A. Potamianos)

Ennio Morricone: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly theme (arr. A. Potamianos)

Ennio Morricone: Gabriel’s oboe (arr. A. Potamianos)

Philip Glass: Koyaanisqatsi 01 (arr. A. Potamianos)


Gioacchino Rossini: 6 Sonate á Quattro – nr. 6 (Tempesta)


Angel Peña: Ballade pour Ariston, Etude monotone pour Johnny (viola, cello, double bass)

Mauricio Kagel: Aus dem Nachlass (viola, cello, double bass)

Philip Glass: Koyaanisqatsi 01 (viola, cello, double bass – arr. A. Potamianos)


Jean-Baptiste Barriére: Sonata X (á deux) (cello, double bass)

W.A. Mozart: Sonata in C KV292 (cello, double bass)

Gioacchino Rossini: Duetto per Violoncello e Contrabasso

Domenico Dragonetti: Duetto per Violoncello e Contrabasso

Reinhold Gliére: Suite for Viola and Double Bass

Efrain Oscher: Escenas del Sur (viola, double bass)

Tjerk van der Ham: Sarah’s Delight (cello, double bass)

Edgar Meyer: Concert Duo for violin and double bass (1st movement)

Tom Knific: Duo for violin or viola and double bass

Dusan Radic: Duet for violin and cello

Ennio Morricone: La storia vera della signora delle camelie

Gallery and Media

Night of the Industrial Culture, Zaandam October 2016 – Photographs: Rene Knoop

Havikconcert, Amersfoort June 2017


Splendor Amsterdam, June 2017. Visuals: Athena Potamianos

Garden “Tuin De Lage Oorsprong” Oosterbeek, May 6 2018.





Doornenburg Castle, June 3 2018

Contact (En)